It would be hard to miss the formidable Tudor-Gothic structure on the Cambridge campus at 255 East Main Street. A local landmark affectionately known as “the castle,” the building was constructed in 1894 as the private residence of Samuel Leeds Allen, a holder of 300 patents and the inventor of the Flexible Flyer sled. Allen named the castle “Breidenhart” after the lost family name of his great-grandmother. The choice was prescient on Allen’s part — Breidenhart means “broad hearthstone” or “hospitality” in German, and the building has welcomed many throughout the years.
In 1920, the castle was purchased by Eldridge R. Johnson, inventor of the Victor Talking Machine. Even today, statues and photos of RCA’s iconic Nipper Dog can be seen throughout the castle. In 1946, Johnson’s widow sold the house and 12-acre property to the Lutheran Home of New Jersey, which established a skilled nursing facility and welcomed its first 16 residents in 1947. After that time, the community transformed with convenient modern touches and additions and then in 1961, it was renamed The Lutheran Home at Moorestown.
As the campus continued to grow, it was once again renamed. In 2006, Lutheran Care added suites for independent seniors in need of assistance with daily activities. Today, under new ownership, we are known as Cambridge and are pleased to offer the community a full continuum of age-in-place care.